Song I’m Obsessed With This Week: “West Coast” by Coconut Records

Posted by: Coco Buchanan

True, I’ve been obsessed with this song for far more than this week.  But it’s made a comeback over the past few days.  Perhaps because I am possibly the cheesiest person alive, and I’m thinking of someone leaving on a long trip to somewhere far away this week.  But overall, I really have an attachment to this song because it really is about, duh, being bi-coastal but being from the West Coast originally. 

This video is actually in no way connected with Coconut Records/Jason Schwartzman– some random guy just made it.  The reason I posted this instead of the actual video is because I find this one to match the way I feel about the song much better.  The actual video is some German guy skateboarding that I never really bothered to watch the entire way through.  Maybe it’s funny or cool, I dunno, it was snoozeville for me.  But anyway….

I have emotional attachments to both coasts, and it can be hard to leave either one sometimes, when I’m visiting back home in the West.  This is saying a lot because usually people from the West Coast fiercely, unconditionally love it and almost generally never leave.   I think the East suits me better lifestyle-wise, though I’m not a great fan of cold weather, and I’ve made a lot of friends and associate my adult life here in NYC primarily.  So, it can be really hard to leave here sometimes, even if just for a little while.  And yet this song also makes me homesick for CA, being able to go to the beach whenever I wanted in whatever month I wanted, and re-visiting places inextricably tied to a wealth of memories.  One of my friends humorously remarked that this song made him wistful for a long-lost love he doesn’t even have in CA.   I like this song most, however, because it aknowledges (almost painfully) that you’ll miss someone, but yet it has a quality full of hope and possibilites at the same time.  Maybe it’s that “ahhhh” chorus part towards the end.

1 Comment

Filed under music

One response to “Song I’m Obsessed With This Week: “West Coast” by Coconut Records

  1. Jaemaz

    The actual video features the American street skateboarding legend and artist Mark Gonzales– The Gonz.

Leave a Reply

