Song I’m Obsessed With This Week: Bloody Motherfucking Asshole, Martha Wainwright

Posted By: Coco Buchanan

This song is great for many reasons, which is funny, because I’m actually not a huge fan of hers normally (I actually think she’d have a better career if she always sang in French).  Though, I do give her mad props for being the highlight of an awfully boring Goldfrapp show I attended at Radio City.  Wainwright has a pretty powerful voice, and the lyrics of this song are particularly well matched with her vocals.  Rumor has it, she wrote this about her dad, Loudon Wainwright.  Ooooh…

I particularly find the following lines very father-daughterish, though it can really be applied to any paternalistic prick in one’s life:

You say my time here has been some sort of joke
That I’ve been messing around
Some sort of incubating period
For when I really come around
I’m cracking up
And you have no idea

And that’s precisely what I most like about this song: the frustration it expresses about living up to and being trapped within androcentric society’s/your family’s expectations.  Just kind of makes you want to scream “You Bloody Motherfucking Asshole!” doesn’t it?

Leave a comment

Filed under music

Leave a Reply

