Interview with Erica, Dances With Sneakers/Boogie Woogie Bugle Girl

Posted By: Coco Buchanan

Erica is a friend of me & Stella’s. She bakes cookies like nobody’s business at all hours of the day, is always down for impromptu karaoke or dance parties (in sneakers, even), and has possibly the most oft-mispronounced last name ever, even though it’s quite simple, and you’d think people wouldn’t stray too far from what it actually is. But, no. Also, she’s is often wracked with Catholic guilt about things that have nothing to do directly with Catholicism, necessarily (interviewees, Just Like Us!). It can make for good work ethic, but caaa-razaaay rage sessions with yours truly. RAGEPOD AGAINST THE MACHINE!

permCB: Where you from & where do you stay at?

ES: I’m from the suburbs of Buffalo–Hamburg, to be exact. These days I stay in Park Slope.

CB: Who is your Daddy, and what does he do?

ES: Pop-pop/Big John/the Great White Hunter: a man recovering from decades with permed hair, too many kids, and no fewer than three jobs at any given time. These days he’s “retired” which means he works one job, and is building a house in the middle of nowhere that’s exactly what he’s always wanted.

CB:What is your problem?

ES: I find these kind of questions intimidating, even though (or, “therefore”) I’m kind of brassy and obnoxious.

CB: What sound or noise do you love?

ES: Children. Even if they’re screaming for hours I’d rather hear that than any adult I’ve met thus far.

CB: Oysters or Peanuts at happy hour?

ES: Peanuts…but I wish pretzels were an option

CB: If I was over at your house, would it be cool if I crash there?

ES: Definitely. However, I can’t promise that one or both of my roommates won’t say something straight-up weird.

CB: Do you think you’ve “sold out”?

ES: No. You have to have been cool before sell out, right? I missed that boat.

CB: Would you welcome the opportunity to “sell out”?

ES: Not so much…being raised Catholic ruins you because you start to think that you win by doing things the hard way or suffering.

CB: What are the first 5 songs on your “recently played” playlist?

ES: Preface: I don’t trust this because I’m not sure how to make this list update itself, but, from the iPod:

“I Know I’ve Got Your Love” Saw Doctors
“Star of the County Down” The Pogues
“Bless Me Father” Saw Doctors
“Sally MacLennane” The Pogues
“Changing Your Demeanour” The Chieftains

Summation: Last week was St. Patrick’s day and I was inexplicably and unreasonably excited–those were dancin’ tunes.
[Ed note: I was gonna say, Jesus Christ you are such a Mick ;)]

shanemcgowan-the-many-faces-of

CB: If Hollywood made a movie about your life, whom would you like to see play the lead role as you?

ES: Claire Danes? I’m terrible at pop culture…what’s been happening since “My So Called Life?”

CB: Define the word “burrito.”

ES: Mexican-ish style food consisting of: white flour tortilla, rice, beans, (meat, if that’s how you flow), sour cream, guacamole, lots of cheese, veggie filling, olives, lettuce.

CB: Name a food that you used to hate but you love now.

ES: Avocado

CB: What is the finest quality a person can possess?

ES: Honesty. I’ll respect you if you hate me, but only if you can say it to my face.littlegirldancing

CB: When have you felt most loved?

ES: When I got dumped and my siblings did the supportive thing. The close second being impromptu dance parties.

CB: What’d you do today?

ES: Worked more than I care to discuss. Then I drank cheap wine and started answering these questions.

CB: What’s a guilty pleasure for you?

ES: Excel spreadsheets and home-maker kind of stuff. Organization and baking each offer a unique sense of accomplishment.

CB: What actor or actress’s fame is totally undeserved?

ES: I have no idea, but I regret that and am working on building my pop culture knowledge. Ask me again in a year.

CB: You have to move to another city that you’ve never even visited and live there for at least one year. Where do you go?

ES: Sevilla.

CB: Invent a Ben & Jerry’s ice cream flavor that incorporates the name of a band. Go.

ES: Rancid Snickers.

CB: If your country of origin suddenly adopted an Israeli/Italian policy towards defense, and you had to join the armed forces in some capacity, what would you choose to do?

ES: Cook? Emigrate? Play boogie-woogie-bugle (see the Andrews Sisters & Bing Crosby).

andrews-sisters1

CB: Brandon, Dylan or Steve?

ES: Steve.

Leave a comment

Filed under Interviews

Leave a Reply

